Guest reviews for the hotel

Mettmann Hotel 2023

We stayed at this hotel on a recent trip to Germany for some of the Christmas markets, on a Shearings weekend coach trip. A nice hotel, the staff were really nice, and very helpful. The room was good, tidy and comfortable. (My only concern with the rooms was that they had no tea and coffee facilities. But I was aware of this so took my own). The restaurant was clean with a good selection of food, but we only used it for breakfast. A good location for local supermarkets, fast food dining, a twenty minute walk into town or a 10 euro taxi ride, and very easy to get into the local cities for the markets.

Lee1962-2015 Hotel ratings TripAdvisor, 04.02.2024
separator

Wonderful

Good breakfast

Cincovic Hotel ratings Booking.com, 01.02.2024
separator

3 night stay to visit Dusseldorf and Cologne Christmas markets.

Stay here for three nights over weekend 8th to 11th December 2023 as part of a Leger coach trip. There were four Leger coaches staying here, but despite the numbers the hotel never felt crowded. Due to travelling all day Friday 8th December, we did not arrive until 1.30am in the morning on Saturday 9th December. Check-in was smooth and issue free to allow us to go to bed for a well earned sleep. Although the rooms are on the small side, they were clean and functional. We already knew that kettles and tea & coffee making facilities were not available, so we brought our own travel kettle. Kettles were available at reception for a small deposit if you had not brought your own. A mini-fridge was also a welcome addition so you could have cool water and snacks. The shower was 'skin stripping' roasting first thing in the morning (first ever time I have had to note that the water was too hot). After some minor adjustment to the cold taps in the basin, this diverted the cold water to the mixing tap in the shower and normal service was restored. Breakfast is served buffet style and there was absolutely something for everyone. Hot eggs, sausage, beans and bacon were available alongside the usual continental offerings. Breakfast was served from 6am to 10.30am. On our last morning, Monday 11th December our departure time was 4.30am to ensure we got to the channel ports for the 12noon sailing and the Hotel laid on breakfast at 3.30am. The hotel is located in a residential district without any nearby services, such as pubs, cafes or restaurants. There is however a Sparkasse (Bank) opposite the Hotel which provides an ATM / Geld Automat. Staff were very, very friendly and the bar was also available with the buffet style evening meal.

Martin G Hotel ratings TripAdvisor, 15.12.2023
separator

Very Good

Their staff are so friendly. Clean and comfortable, good breakfast. Bad: /

Chau Hotel ratings Booking.com, 11.12.2023
separator

Hotel is far far better than any of its negative reviews

I have just returned from a 4 night stay at this hotel, i read many reviews of it on Tripadvisor before i went. If i mention my negative first, at the time of my stay i think there were at least three coach parties staying, all from the UK , the first breakfast had a great choice even bacon , but not sausage (a kind of meatball alternative was there) and generally speaing the breakfast was OK bearing in mind i booked in the Knowledge that it was a continental breakfast deal. The second morning NO bacon, it was clear many of the UK folk were dissapointed that there was no bacon and i heard requests to the kitchen staff for bacon again the rest of the week and indeed it was commented that bacon would be on the rest of the week IT NEVER MATERIALISED, i know many were dissapointed at this , after all its a staple breakfast fodder for the UK . i didnt like the other options , but i did book not expecting a warm UK breakfast so i supose i have no reason to complain....but if the hotel staff are reading please note that english people like a warm breakfast :- bacon , fried egg , proper sausage, baked beans, warm tomatoes Having read other reviews of the hotel i was not expecting much ,just a place to sleep at night , however in reality the hotel was fantastic, large rooms, (a tv but no english chanels) good facilities, nice and clean and with friendly staff , i would certainly recomend the hotel and its facilities. There is some nearby(walking distance) thing such as a Aldi, a McDonalds, a pizza place and an Ameican diner , a bus stop directly outside the hotel very regular busses, i cannot understand many of the negative feedback this hotel has got on here , they are un deserved in my opinion , regarding the heating YES it was VERY WARM , i opened a window, issue solved thank you for a lovely stay and all the best to the staff

D7133CEbrians Hotel ratings TripAdvisor, 10.12.2023
separator

Brilliant birthday weekend

I came here for a birthday weekend with Shearings to visit Cologne and Duesseldorf christmas markets, and the staff at the hotel made my weekend a great one. The room was nice and clean, a good size, and the bathroom too. The breakfast was stunning - plenty of choice for all. Definitely will be coming back soon :)

Bibi S Hotel ratings TripAdvisor, 09.12.2023
separator

3 star at best.

This is not a 4 star hotel by any stretch of the imagination, however it’s a very adequate 2-3 Star hotel. Rooms are small and very warm even with the radiators turned off. The breakfast is very good but the evening buffet not so as food not replenished if you go later. It was a coach party trip and it’s not a hotel I would choose to stay in if I was an independent traveler as there’s literally nothing in the area.

jimmyb01 Hotel ratings TripAdvisor, 04.12.2023
separator

Very Good

For the price it's a good deal. Breakfast was diverse and good. The room is a bit outdated but comfortable. The showers were great! Bad: The room is a bit outdated.

Jan Hotel ratings Booking.com, 02.12.2023
separator

Exceptional

Alles super!!!

Thomas Hotel ratings Booking.com, 19.11.2023
separator

Very Good

Tout Bad: Rien

Mirzaisanela Hotel ratings Booking.com, 09.10.2023
separator

Very Good

There are no comments available for this review

Berthold Hotel ratings Booking.com, 08.10.2023
separator

Wonderful

There are no comments available for this review

Marvin Hotel ratings Booking.com, 03.10.2023
separator

Exceptional

There are no comments available for this review

Djordje Hotel ratings Booking.com, 02.10.2023
separator

Very Good

There are no comments available for this review

Krister Hotel ratings Booking.com, 02.10.2023
separator

Very Good

There are no comments available for this review

Giovanni Hotel ratings Booking.com, 27.09.2023
separator

Good

There are no comments available for this review

Diana Hotel ratings Booking.com, 26.09.2023
separator

Very Good

There are no comments available for this review

Calayolu Hotel ratings Booking.com, 25.09.2023
separator

Cheap, but best value for your money!! Breakfast for that price: exceptional!

Best value money can buy in that area! If you are Golfer, it is perfect stay to reach Hubbelrath! Bad: Nothing to complain!

Daniel Hotel ratings Booking.com, 24.09.2023
separator

Very Good

There are no comments available for this review

Christian Hotel ratings Booking.com, 24.09.2023
separator

Good

There are no comments available for this review

Jens-uwe Hotel ratings Booking.com, 24.09.2023
separator

Exceptional

There are no comments available for this review

Marina Hotel ratings Booking.com, 23.09.2023
separator

Very Good

There are no comments available for this review

Marina Hotel ratings Booking.com, 21.09.2023
separator

Wonderful

There are no comments available for this review

Mitu Hotel ratings Booking.com, 21.09.2023
separator

Wonderful

There are no comments available for this review

Plinio Hotel ratings Booking.com, 19.09.2023
separator

Very Good

There are no comments available for this review

Alexandra Hotel ratings Booking.com, 19.09.2023
separator

Very Good

Professional receptionists with perfect English. They care about every guest and are very polite. The breakfast was great: eggs, cheese, cornflakes, granola, and fresh bread.

Ксенія Hotel ratings Booking.com, 18.09.2023
separator

Good

There are no comments available for this review

Johannes Hotel ratings Booking.com, 18.09.2023
separator

Wonderful

There are no comments available for this review

Werner Hotel ratings Booking.com, 18.09.2023
separator

Exceptional

There are no comments available for this review

Zinkovska Hotel ratings Booking.com, 17.09.2023
separator

Good

There are no comments available for this review

Gerhard Hotel ratings Booking.com, 17.09.2023
separator
Contact

Wyndham Garden Düsseldorf Mettmann
Peckhauser Straße 5
40822 Mettmann 
Germany